Board of Directors

Tony Quick 2016

Tony Quick

Mr. Quick joined Quickstep following a highly successful career in the aerospace and defence industries. After graduating from Cambridge University, Mr. Quick spent most of his career in International Business Development, Program and Business Management. He joined an Aerospace composites business in 1988 and in 1993 he joined Westland Helicopters in England where he held senior international business development and program management roles. In October 2000 he left Westland to emigrate to Australia and, in 2001, set up GKN Aerospace Engineering Services Pty Ltd to service global demand for engineering services. The Company’s parent, GKN Aerospace, is one of the world’s largest independent first-tier suppliers to the global aviation industry providing integrated metal and composite assemblies for aerostructures and engine products. GKN Aerospace Engineering Services Pty Ltd provided design services to the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter program for Lockheed Martin and Northrop Grumman and grew to employ more than 240 aerospace engineering staff in Australia. He was a Director and General Manager of that company until 2009. Mr. Quick was the Director of the Defence Industry Innovation Centre, Enterprise Connect from 2009 to 2011.


Mark Burgess - CEO Designate 2017 

Mark Burgess
CEO & Managing Director

Mark has over 20 years’ experience in the global aerospace and defence industry. His successful delivery of profitable growth and complex projects in advanced technology businesses has led to significant employer, customer and industry recognition. Mark has held leadership roles of increasing responsibility for British and American companies across Europe, North America, the Middle East and Asia.

After a 16 year career in BAE Systems covering sales, contracts, project and general management Mark joined Honeywell in 2013 as Vice President Asia Pacific.  In this most recent role Mark had operational and P&L responsibility for Honeywell's defense, space and commercial helicopter business division in Asia.

Mark has extensive experience of governance and stakeholder management, working with public, private and not-for-profit sectors. He has managed several successful post acquisition integration projects and has held numerous board positions on subsidiaries and international joint ventures.

Mark holds a degree in Politics and Economics from the University of Hull and has completed several post graduate studies in business and operations management.

Bruce Griffiths 2016

Bruce Griffiths OAM
Non-Executive Director

Mr. Griffiths has had a successful and extensive career, spanning more than 40 years, in the manufacturing industry. He has held a number of senior Executive roles within the industry and has a long history in working with Government. Bruce was recently awarded the Order of Australia Medal for services to the automotive manufacturing industry and to the community. Previous appointments include: Rail Supplier Advocate from 2009 to 2014, Chairman - Futuris Automotive Group (2007-2012), Managing Director - Futuris Automotive Group (1992 -2007), Chairman - Air International Thermal Systems (2008-2011), Board Member - AutoCRC (Advanced Automotive Technology Ltd) (Inception -2012), Vice President of the Federation of Automotive Products Manufacturers (FAPM) (1990-2012). Member - Automotive Industry Innovation Council, Advisory Board Member - Enterprise Connect, Chairman - Sail Melbourne ISAF Sailing World Cup. Mr. Griffiths’ honors include: Order of Australia Medal - 2013, Centenary Medal for Services to the Development of the Auto Industry Policy, Victorian Manufacturing Hall of Fame for services to the Manufacturing Industry.

Peter Cook 2016

Peter Chapman Cook
Non-Executive Director
M. Pharm., FRMIT, PhC., MPS, MRACI, C.Chem., MAICD.

Mr. Cook’s most recent Executive appointment was as Managing Director and CEO of Biota Holdings Limited. Mr. Cook has also held the positions of Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Orbital Corporation Limited, Chief Executive Officer of Faulding Hospital Pharmaceuticals, President of Ansell’s Protective Products Division, Deputy Managing Director of Invetech and Director of Research and Development for Nicholas Kiwi. Mr. Cook has had extensive experience in the commercialisation of innovation, both in new and established markets. Mr. Cook also has considerable experience in mergers. Mr. Cook has had a wide exposure of international commercial experience in Europe, USA and Asia, where he has both lived and worked. He holds a Masters Degree in Pharmacy, post graduate qualifications in Management from RMIT University and is a Fellow of Monash University



Errol McCormack 2016

Air Marshal Errol McCormack (Ret'd) AO
Non-Executive Director

Mr. McCormack has extensive experience as a Senior Commander in the Royal Australian Air Force. Mr. McCormack served in the Royal Australian Air Force for 39 years, retiring in 2001 as Chief of Air Force with the rank of Air Marshal. During his period of service he commanded at unit, wing and command level, held staff positions in capability development, operations and educational posts and attended both RAAF and Joint Services Staff Colleges. His overseas postings included flying tours in Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia and Singapore, an exchange tour with the US Air Force flying the RF4C, Air Attaché Washington and Commander Integrated Air Defence System in the Five Power Defence Agreement between Malaysia, Singapore, UK, New Zealand and Australia. Since his retirement from the RAAF he has established a company providing consultancy services for multi-national companies working with the Australian Department of Defence. His pro-bono work includes Chairman of the Board of the Sir Richard Williams Foundation, an independent think-tank supporting development of Australian military aviation policy. He is a member of the Royal Aeronautical Society and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Nigel Ampherlaw 2016

Mr Nigel Ampherlaw
Non-Executive Director

Mr. Ampherlaw was a Partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers for 22 years where he held a number of leadership positions, including heading the financial services audit, business advisory services and consulting businesses. He also held a number of senior client Lead Partner roles. He has extensive experience in Risk Management, technology, consulting and auditing in Australia and the Asia-Pacific region.





James Douglas 2016

Mr James Douglas
Non-Executive Director

Mr. Douglas is Chairman of Australian composite automotive wheels manufacturer Carbon Revolution and a founder of investment firm Newmarket Capital, a strategic investor in the carbon fibre manufacturing sector. James has over 20 years of global investment banking experience and has held former roles as Global Head of Consumer Products at Merrill Lynch, Head of Consumer Products – Americas at UBS and Head of Global Banking Australia & New Zealand at Citi. He holds a LLB and BSc from the University of Melbourne.





Jaime Pinto 2016

Mr Jaime Pinto
Company Secretary

Mr. Pinto is a Chartered Accountant with over 20 years experience in both professional practice and commerce. He has held senior finance roles in organisations of varying size and complexity, including small private businesses, large national groups and ASX listed entities.

Mr. Pinto holds a Bachelor Degree in Commerce from the University of NSW, is a member of The Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia, and an Associate Member of Governance Institute